Travellers from 20 countries won’t have to pay visa fees in Thailand this holiday season

Share this

A bodhi tree has almost completely covered the Buddha at Wat Mahathat.
Photo: Justin Foulkes/Lonely Planet

Travelling to Thailand this holiday season is about to get easier for citizens of 20 countries around the world.

From 15 November to 13 January, 2019, the government is exempting travellers from paying the 2000 Baht (US$60) visa-on-arrival fee. The following countries have been exempted: Andorra, Bulgaria, Bhutan, China including Taiwan, Cyprus, Ethiopia, Fiji, India, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius, Papua New Guinea, Romania, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Ukraine and Uzbekistan.

That means that passport holders from those countries who are touring Thailand for no more than 15 days will have a smoother time entering the country. Since the visa waiver comes during the New Year celebrations, the tourism authority is hoping this will attract people to the many events happening around the country, including a number of music festivals held around the New Year.

Thailand has long been a tourism hotspot, but a number of emerging destinations around the world are similarly trying to entice travellers by waiving visas. Central Asia has seen a wave of countries making it easier for travellers to visit, including Uzbekistan and Azerbaijan.

Read full article at Lonely Planet:

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this

Leave a Reply