Myanmar Tourism Launches Six New CBT Projects

Share this

Community-based tourism is being introduced in six villages around Myanmar: Indawgyi Lake in Kachin State, Loikaw Township in Kayah State, Thantaunggyi in Kayin State, the Pa-O region of southern Shan State, Myaing Township in the Magway Region, and Mingun in the Mandalay Region.

Pic by Yarzaryeni from

Indawgyi Lake and Indawgyi Pagoda located in Kachin State of Myanmar. Pic by Yarzaryeni.

The projects are being sponsored by the Ministry of Hotels and Tourism, the Myanmar Tourism Industry Federation, Action Aid Myanmar, and tour companies.

Full story at Eleven.

Meanwhile the list of no-go zones for foreigners and tourists will remain unchanged.

According to Eleven, the Commander-in-Chief’s Office and the military-controlled Ministry of Home Affairs sent a directive to the Ministry of Hotels and Tourism in December last year about the restricted areas “where foreigners’ safety cannot be guaranteed”.

Areas of Kachin, Kayin, Kayah, Shan, Chin, Rakhine, Sagaing, Tanintharyi, Bago, Yangon and Mandalay are restricted.

Full story at Eleven.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this

Leave a Reply