Myanmar adds to VoA list

Company contributor TTR Weekly

Share this

Myanmar is easing visa procedures for six more countries effective 1 October.

The report first appeared in Mizzima, an online news channel, that confirmed nationals from Australia, Italy, Germany Russia, Spain and Switzerland would be granted a visa-on-arrival.

The visa-on-arrival will cost USD50, which is the same as the country’s popular eVisa.  All the six countries are also on the eVisa country list.

A government statement said the visa-on-arrival would apply at three airports – Yangon, Mandalay and Nay Pyi Taw the country’s political capital.  It is also valid for some international overland border checkpoints

The visa-on-arrival is useful for travellers who do not have enough time to apply for the eVisa. The latter takes around 24 hours to receive an email approval slip. A non-refundable credit card payment is required when completing the online form.

Long visa-on-arrival queues at the airport are a drawback. During peak traffic hours when flights are arriving from China it will take much longer to get through the visa-on-arrival counters at immigration.

Travellers must complete a form, attach a recent photo and pay USD50 in fresh, clean and non-creased US dollar bills.

Read the full article at TTR Weekly:

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this