e-Visa Turns Tachileik into a Gateway

Company contributor TTR Weekly

Share this

More international travellers visiting Chiang Rai are likely to extend their trips to Myanmar now they can obtain an e-Visa online for travel through the Mae-Sai Tachileik checkpoint.

Image source: 'TTR Weekly'

Image source: ‘TTR Weekly’

e-Visa entry was introduced at three land checkpoints between Thailand and Myanmar (Tachileik, Myawaddy and Kawthaung) on September 1.

The move by Myanmar’s Ministry of Labour, Immigration and Population makes it more flexible and convenient for travellers to combine a North Thailand holiday with a visit to Myanmar’s popular tourist destinations, ending with a visit to Yangon.

The e-Visa allows a traveller to enter at any of the three overland checkpoints and exit through an international airport (Yangon, Nay Pyi Taw and Mandalay). They can stay for up to 28 days. The visa costs USD50 to process through an online payment by credit card.

Full TTR Weekly story.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this